DDA News

 

 

 

What We Do

The mission of the Garden City Downtown Development Authority is to enhance the quality of life for Garden City residents through revitalization of the downtown district.

The DDA’s operating philosophy is built upon the principle that strengthening a core area benefits the entire community, improving property values not only in the core district, but throughout the community.

This is done by promoting economic growth, encouraging expansion of commercial enterprises in the downtown district, and by eliminating the causes of deterioration.

We also work with business leaders and community organizations to sponsor events in the downtown district such as the annual Chili Cookoff, Lucky Squirrel Festival, Willie the Pig Road Rally, and the Santaland Parade.

These events help draw city residents downtown and foster a sense of community.

gc_flea_circusPhotos From the 2017 Flea Circus

9CF05071-04C2-45BC-9FD7-6DD54A3B4B7FPhotos From the May 2018 Lucky Squirrel Event

DDA Committee Application

The DDA is inviting Garden City residents to apply to sit on one of our four committees: Marketing, Promotion, Design & Maintenance. Please download and complete the attached application and return it to the DDA office.

DDA Committee Application

2019 Schedule of Regular DDA Board Meetings

  • Tuesday, January 15, 2019 – 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 19, 2019 – 5:00pm
  • Tuesday, March 19, 2019 – 8:30am
  • Tuesday, April 16, 2019 – 5:00pm
  • Tuesday, May 21, 2019 – 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 18, 2019 – 5:00pm
  • Tuesday, July 16, 2019 – 8:30am
  • Tuesday, August 20, 2019 – 5:00pm
  • Tuesday, September 17, 2019 – 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 15, 2019 – 5:00pm
  • Tuesday, November 19, 2019 – 8:30am
  • Tuesday, December 17, 2019 – 5:00pm

Agendas & Minutes of Board Meetings